TCG Recognizes 2018 Industry Experts and Leaders for Global Security Standards and Elects Board Members from GE and Seagate

Date Published: November, 06, 2018

PORTLAND, Ore., Nov. 6, 2018Trusted Computing Group (TCG) has awarded nine members for technical contributions and leadership. The group also elected two board members.

TCG Key Contributors were nominated by their peers and awardees include:

  • Marie Ando, STMicroelectronics, who has worked with TCG’s Japan Regional Forum and collaborated with many team members for advocacy of TCG inside and outside of the organization.
  • Andrey Marchko, Microsoft, who has worked since 2011 on foundational cyber-security technologies, such as TCG TPM, DICE, RIoT and RTRes.
  • Thomas Bowen, Intel, who has made significant contributions to the TCG storage specifications and to TCG support for the NVM Express storage interface.
  • Nadesan Narenthiran, who has worked on storage specifications and is a main contributor to TCG specifications for NVMe.
  • Xavier Boussin, STMicroelectronics, who has contributed to TPM embedded software development and contributed to the TCG Vehicle Services SubGroup.

TCG also annually recognizes a member for its Frank Molsberry Distinguished Service Award. This year’s awardee, Amy Nelson, is an engineering technologist, CISSP, and distinguished member of the technical staff for Dell, Inc. with 24 years of PC industry experience. In TCG, Nelson chairs the PC Client Work Group and the Security Evaluation Work Group and serves on the group’s board of directors. She has participated in assurance activities with FIPS and Common Criteria and has been involved in a number of other TCG activities.

Carolin Baumgartner, invited expert and Rob Spiger, Microsoft, received the 2018 TCG Leadership Award. Baumgartner first worked with TPMs during her Ph.D. at the University of Fribourg in 2009, where she developed an authentication method for public wireless networks based on TPMs. Since then, she has worked on infrastructure topics, including chairing the related TCG work group.

Spiger is a principal security strategist at Microsoft on the digital diplomacy team inside the customer security and trust organization and has participated in TCG for more than 10 years. His substantial industry experience also includes his contributions at Avanade, Advanced Technical Resources, and Lockheed Martin.

Members also elected Monty Wiseman, GE, and Jim Hatfield, Seagate, for a one-year term to the group’s board of directors. Wiseman has contributed or led a number of TCG efforts around the TPM and other work. Hatfield currently co-chairs the TCG Storage Work Group.

About TCG

TCG (@TrustedComputin) is a not-for-profit organization formed to develop, define and promote open, vendor-neutral, global industry standards, supportive of a hardware-based root of trust, for interoperable trusted computing platforms. More information about TCG is available at Follow TCG on Twitter and on LinkedIn. The organization offers a number of resources for developers and designers at

Brands and trademarks are the property of their respective owners.


Membership in the Trusted Computing Group is your key to participating with fellow industry stakeholders in the quest to develop and promote trusted computing technologies.

Join Now

Trusted Computing

Standards-based Trusted Computing technologies developed by TCG members now are deployed in enterprise systems, storage systems, networks, embedded systems, and mobile devices and can help secure cloud computing and virtualized systems.

Read more


Trusted Computing Group announced that its TPM 2.0 (Trusted Platform Module) Library Specification was approved as a formal international standard under ISO/IEC (the International Organization for Standardization and the International Electrotechnical Commission). TCG has 90+ specifications and guidance documents to help build a trusted computing environment.

Read More