The Storage Work Group builds upon existing TCG technologies and philosophy, and focuses on standards for security services on dedicated storage systems. One objective is to develop standards and practices for defining the same security services across dedicated storage controller interfaces, including but not limited to ATA, Serial ATA, SCSI, FibreChannel, USB Storage, IEEE 1394, Network Attached Storage (TCP/IP), NVM Express, and iSCSI. Storage systems include disk drives, removable media drives, flash storage, and multiple storage device systems.

Dr. Jorge Campello

Director of System and Software Technologies, Western Digital Corporation; Work Group Co-Chair


Resource NameResource Type
Save the Data SED InfographicInfographic
Storage Work Group Storage Interface Interactions SpecificationSpecification
Storage Work Group Storage Security Subsystem Class: Enterprise SpecificationSpecification
Storage Work Group Storage Security Subsystem Class: OpalSpecification
TCG Storage Architecture Core SpecificationSpecification
TCG Storage Core Spec Addendum: Secure MessagingSpecification
TCG Storage Enterprise Feature Set: PSK Secure MessagingSpecification
TCG Storage Feature Set Block SID Authentication SpecificationSpecification
TCG Storage Opal Integration GuidelinesReference Document
TCG Storage Opal Feature Set: PSIDSpecification
TCG Storage Opal SSC Feature Set: PSK Secure MessagingSpecification
TCG Storage Opal SSC Feature Set: Single User ModeSpecification
TCG Storage Security Subsystem Class: OpaliteSpecification
TCG Storage Security Subsystem Class: PyriteSpecification
TCG Storage, Opal, and NVMeWhite Paper
TCG Storage Enterprise SSC Feature Set Locking LBA Ranges Control SpecificationSpecification
Implementing Hardware Roots of TrustWhite Paper
TCG Storage Protection Mechanisms for Secrets SpecificationSpecification
TCG Storage Opal SSC Feature Set: Additional DataStore TablesSpecification
TCG Storage Opal Test CasesSpecification
TCG Architecture Overview, Version 1.4Specification


Membership in the Trusted Computing Group is your key to participating with fellow industry stakeholders in the quest to develop and promote trusted computing technologies.

Join Now

Trusted Computing

Standards-based Trusted Computing technologies developed by TCG members now are deployed in enterprise systems, storage systems, networks, embedded systems, and mobile devices and can help secure cloud computing and virtualized systems.

Read more


Trusted Computing Group announced that its TPM 2.0 (Trusted Platform Module) Library Specification was approved as a formal international standard under ISO/IEC (the International Organization for Standardization and the International Electrotechnical Commission). TCG has 90+ specifications and guidance documents to help build a trusted computing environment.

Read more
Please wait...

Subscribe to our newsletter

Want to be notified when our article is published? Enter your email address and name below to be the first to know.